Search the forum,

Discuss What can happen when the wrong pump is installed in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Stigster

Esteemed
Plumber
Subscribed
I've just found a load of old photos I took when I was an apprentice. Among them was this standard circulating pump that was installed on an unvented secondary return circuit. It should have been a bronze pump as I'm sure you know. I was called to re-install the unvented cylinder which was up in the loft. It didn't comply in many ways and the insurers picked up on the faults and I was sent to reinstall it to regulations.

When this pump failed the homeowners were away for several days with this pouring mains water from a 22mm feed from the loft into the house. It was a beautiful old place owned by a wealthy elderly couple and the damage was extensive as you can imagine. Much high quality antique furniture was ruined.

Anyway, I thought you guys might like to see a what a pump looks like after being used for the wrong purpose. I believe it took about 2 years to get to this condition and failure.

Attachments

• corroded pump.jpeg
    corroded pump.jpeg
    95.6 KB · Views: 49
  • corroded pump1.jpeg
    corroded pump1.jpeg
    103.5 KB · Views: 52
As far as I an tell, that is a brass pump and fit for the purpose it was installed for.

The bodies of the pump are always steel or aluminium and the head of the pump is brass.
I don't think the wrong type of pump was installed.
Something else has gone wrong for the bottom of the pump to be that corroded.

I see you guys are correct. I was a 2nd year apprentice at that time and that's what I was told back then, wrong pump. However I looked up the model just now an it is a bronze pump indeed. I now think Last has the right idea. Either way it is quite incredible just how corroded it became before finally having the front fall off. Don't worry though guys, I towed it beyond the environment.