Search the forum,

Discuss Student accom advice! Full plumb in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hey guys!
I’m a domestic plumber in general but been given an opportunity design student accom. So, I have a question:

There are 5 floors. Top 3 of them will be student accom (others basement and ground). I will be putting a water booster on ground floor to help with pressure (I’ve spoken to Stuart Turner on pumps). There are 22 student rooms all with en suits and washing machines each floorEverything is electric from shower to instant water basin heaters. So, there 22 toilets, basins, electric showers etc

what size pipe would you recommend to go from the water booster...35mm or go bigger and be 50mm? My plan was to feed off to the flats at 28mm and reduce to 15mm when necessary.

does anyone have experience with student accom and what do you recommend?

Cheers

You may well be capable of doing the works, but when it comes to designing, that's another story.

Get whoever offered you the job to employ a consultant to design the system for you.

What you have been asked to do is way out of any domestic plumbers league and expectations.

First call would be to the water board to see what pressure and pipe size is available at the property.

How many LPM will be used by each flat if everything is used.
You will need a large break tank.
Would need some serious electrical supply to power 22 showers

Sorry bud, this is beyond your abilities or you wouldn't be asking about pipe size instead of knowing by calculation.

By all means do the install but suggest you leave the design or they'll have good reason to get back to you if and when your system doesn't perform.

Probably a good opportunity in the current market if you wish to diversify.