Search the forum,

Discuss Do Web Sites Work in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

justlead1

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Do web sites bring in work for small plumbing/heating/gas fitting type business? Or are they just a necessary expense to join others? What are your thoughts?

Mine definitely works and is profitable but on a small scale. I designed and built my own (saving around £300?) and pay under £7 a month and probably get one or two jobs a month. I also think it serves as a confirmation for potential customers when they look in the phone book.

Apart from my van it's my only regular form of advertising (the rest of the jobs coming from recommendation).

Don't know really!

It does help but as don'tknowitall says on a small scale. Lets be honest the likes of Screwfix must spend millions on advertising we can't compete at that level.

Must admit I like websites, but then I am a Plumber looking at Plumbing websites because I am interested in Plumbing. A potential customer is not usually a Plumber so you have to attract them somehow and don't forget many of the people looking for Plumbers are probably women and they don't usually like techie stuff whereas men sometimes do.

Women usually want fit and forget at a decent price when it comes to repair and choice when it comes to the likes of bathrooms, showers, rads and kitchen stuff. They don't usually want a high tech boiler just a simple reliable one with a very easy to use programmer.

mine costs £3 a month from create , easily brings in more the most revenue per month .

Mine costs nothing....made my own using iWeb on my macbook.....easy. Doesn't bring in much work but being on Google maps and FreeIndex (both free) does, both giving click through to my website.