Search the forum,

Discuss System pumps over when hot in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

dneale123

Hi,

Newbie here and long story so please go easy :smiley2:

Hoping to keep our ancient heating system going for a while longer without too much work (boiler replacement, probably change to combi, planned for the spring, just trying to avoid major plumbing work while the weather's cold if possible).

Our system has a bit of a history of pumping over into the F&E tank in the loft when hot. Originally with the old Wilo pump this only happened on the maximum (3) setting and turning it down to 2 cured the problem. The system dates from about 1980 and is very primitive, with 6 rads and a hot water cylinder apparently just plumbed in parallel with no diverter valves. There are TRVs on the rads but no scope for adding a system thermostat without extensive work (see below for reasons).

The pump eventually failed 2 years ago and was replaced by a basic Primaflow unit that looks like it could be a rebadged Grundfos. Problem is that this pump has got noisy and has started to struggle to circulate water at the 1 setting but works happily and quietly at 2, but after about 1.5 hours the pump over starts. I've tried opening all TRVs fully and reducing the boiler temperature setting (ancient Potterton Flamingo 20-30) but this makes no difference. All rads and hot water get hot and the boiler thermostat is working fine (the hot water is always very hot, of course!).