Search the forum,

Discuss Poystyrene walls in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rudge500`

Hi, I am a plumber in Australia. The current trend here is to clad houses with polystyrene (3" thick) and then render them with concrete. Are they doing this in the Uk? I invented a fixing that will hold in the polystyrene, good for putting on downpipe brackets etc. would like to know if there is a market for them in the UK.

John B

we do have renderd housing methods over here, which normally would involve fibreglass or foam insulation covered with render. Normally when working on these types of propertys wooden battons are fixed at certain heights (decided at design stage) to give you a good fixing for all your rwp's , svp's etc...

I think you will find with the UK market is that many of the big housebuilders and big sites are mainly using timber frame with brick exteriors and small builders are using traditional brick and block There are a number of comapnies promoting these polystyrene type buildings and from what I have seen it tends to be self builders who are experimenting with them mainly because of the high insulation values of the the products. Depending on how serious you are in breaking into the uk market I would be willing to contact a number of companies to try and get some facts and figures for you

i've come acroos this numerous times mainly on blocks of flats and larger buildings when working in london and am now seeing more and more smaller buildings using it. I have also had the problems of getting good fixings too, I'd say there is a market for it that maybe small but will grow as this system is used here more.