Search the forum,

Discuss Ideal Logic + Combi "Flame loss post Stabilisation" error after Smart Meter installation in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all,

First off, I'm just a homeowner looking for advice, I'm not a gas engineer.

On Friday I had smart meters installed and 5 times since then (never previously), the 3-year-old Ideal Logic + Combi boiler has made a fairly loud humming/vibrating noise while running hot water for a few minutes and displays "Contact Installer". I turn the water off immediately and the noise stops. Checking the Fault History displays "Fl. Loss post Stabilisation".

I contacted the meter installers (SMS plc) yesterday and after initially claiming it was a coincidence and nothing to do with them, they sent the engineer out to check everything. He checked the gas pressure from the new meter and all was ok and couldn't get the problem to re-occur while he was here. He thought it was a result of the gas being disconnected and needing to flush through the system and should clear itself. However, it happened again this morning.

The meter installer did say if it does it again they would replace the gas meter, but I wanted to get a second opinion. Could this error be caused by a faulty gas meter, or is it more likely to be a boiler problem? As it started immediately after the meter installation, logic would suggest the meter is at fault, but the boiler installation manual suggests a number of potential reasons for flame loss, and only the first is gas supply related (Gas Pressure available at Boiler Inlet > 18mbar).

Also, is it safe to use the hot water between these errors while the issue is solved? It all seems to work normally, and goes many hours before it occurs again (5 times since Friday midday).

Thanks for any opinions you have.