Search the forum,

Discuss Hive room stat or equivalent in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tommy1712

Evening all i need to change my room stat as ours is on the blink and being my own gaff I fancy a hive stat and receiver that can be controlled by our iphones or a equivalent. The only place I seen hive is through British gas, being a plumber I kindly won't pay them toe rags way over the odds to install what I can with my eyes shut.
any recommendations lads

oh and

WELL DONE YOU GUNNERS

Don't personally like the hive, as its collecting data from your movements.
Salus it500 is cheap and easy to set
Heatmiser neostats are a bit dearer, but good to set up on phone or manually on the stat.

Graham's sell it.

Failing that Most controls companies offer something like it Ray is selling a salus one at a reasonable price and I have to say it looks nothing like the usual tat salus make I was actually impressed with its appearance not fitted one though but a few guys here have so they'd be better placed to pass judgment

I've fitted the salus on my own system, easy to setup and use, got it from Williams.
A few weeks ago my wife and I were in Northern Ireland, my daughter came home due to an invasion of mice in her house, and rather than trying to explain to her how to get the heating on, I sat in the Ballymac having a meal and switched the heating on for her, some 300 mile trip away. Excellent.

We refuse to deal with BG for lots of reasons.

Honeywell Evohome, Heatmiser NEOstat, Salus.... depends how much control you want

There are quite a few options you can go with now, as this kind of technology seems to become more widely available. One recommendation I can make (from personal experience) is a Heat Genius Thermostat.