Search the forum,

Discuss Help requested with Bath Shower Attachment Valve Failure in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

RobB

Hi all - I am new to this but I hope you can help me a little. I put this on the valves & taps forum but have had no answers yet but fewer peole seem to look at that so here goes again... with pictures! PA260802.jpg

We have an old cast iron bath with the mixer tap with a valve to divert the water to the shower head. A traditional style one - two taps connecting in the centre to the shower diverter valve & then to one central spout.

Yesterday my girlfriend said this valve felt funny, made a cracking sound :mad: & now hardly any water comes out of the shower when switched to shower, but mainly from the tap.

I took off the valve handle & front of the valve & can see a plastic [?nylon] valve part that moves up & down freely & does not appear broken. Does the main plastic valve come out by taking off the tap spout or is it not replacable? :confused:

I also took the shower hose connection off & can see another small plastic part that fits into the bottom of the shower pipe with a spring loaded plunger in it. Is it this part that has failed maybe? Nothing looks wrong... Is it a filter? :confused:

PA260803.jpg

Any good ideas please? ;)

sounds like the spring has come away from the diverter. does the diverter now feel like there is no resistance when you try to operate it?
that probably is a filter tho

KJ

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks kay-jay - well it feels the same actually - is there a spring below the plastic valve part that may have broken? It certainly moves up & down with no resistance.

[There is a small spring loaded plunger in the small 'filter' but that seesm to work normally.]
Rob

well i haven't seen one like yours and from your post it sounded like something had gone preventing the diverter from moving inside when you hand operate the knob.