Search the forum,

Discuss Core Drills Question in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tired

I'm a builder rather than plumber so hadn't used core drills until now. I've bought a Dewalt D21570K which was recommended by a plumber. I went on to buy a set of Dart drill bits. Both items weren't bottom of the range but not far off. I only needed the drill to make three holes hence the desire to not pay much more.

I'm drilling through a concrete foundation which has been down for about a year. The drill seems to be struggling in the hole it's made rather than with the drilling of it. I'm past the drill bit now which is when my progress nose dived. I thought maybe it was causing a vacuum so I pilot drilled all the way through. This hasn't helped! The concrete may still be a bit wet although it is near the top of the strip about 10cm below the bottom block.

I've read a few things online about slots in the bit causing vibration and clogging but this doesn't seem to be my problem. Is there something I can put on the bit to lube it in the hole? Is it likely I need a better bit? I'd appreciate any thoughts or pointers.

I perhaps should have mentioned that the Dart drill bits are Diamond and the Dewalt is a core drill. The hole I'm trying to drill is 65mm.
Cheers

In my experience coring hundreds of holes the drill must be 100% level as slightly off and the core bit starts to jam against the outer wall, I'm not trying to teach a granny how to suck eggs lol ( pardon my phrase usage ) but defo this causes major friction , also if I haven't already put a pilot hole in then I usually take the centre bit out once I've got a start,
Also some core bits the diamond teeth are slightly wider than the barrel of the core giving u than millimetre of clearance but wet concrete can always be problematic,

If you're at the depth of the core drill and you want to go deeper have emptied the core of it's contents?