Search the forum,

Discuss CH f&e tank overflowing in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

dom_trig

Hi,

Complete newbie but want to gain an understanding of what the problem might be before getting the pros in.

Background:

Solid fuel (anthracite) boiler for central heating (pumped) and gravity fed dhw, open vented, indirect cylinder. Recently noticed water coming out of downspout at front of house. Further investigation revealed that the overflow pipes from the f&e tank and cold water storage tank led into gutter and hence through downspout. Both tanks were overflowing. Removed excess water from both (water was cold). Cold water storage tank has had no further problems. However f&e tank keeps refilling with cold water. After monitoring for a few nights, it appears that the cold water is coming from the feed (ball valve okay, no water from coming from vent, no steam etc.). I have tried turning down the pump but this has had no effect. This system has been working fault free for three years. The only change/work is that we had a radiator temporarily removed and has since been replaced and had the boiler serviced. However I cannot see how this would cause the overflow. Looking around on the forums it appears that this may be a pinhole in the coil in the hw cylinder. However there is no discolouration/nasty stuff in the hotwater. I want to exhaust all other possibilites before replacing the cylinder.

As we have solid fuel boiler, temperature control on the water is minimal, could it be that the boiler is overheating the water causing excessive expansion?

Any ideas or further things to investigate would be appreciated. if all else fails then I think will have to fork out for new cylinder.

Many thanks in advance

Dom

You say ball valve OK.