Search the forum,

Discuss central heating permanently on, faulty motor? in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

My central heating won't turn off via the wireless thermostat. I can see that it communicates correctly so suspected a problem with the zone valve. It is a Honeywell 2 port and I notice the manual level is completely loose and I can't lock it in the manual 'on' mode. We have other zones and those valves are stiff when off but can be manually moved to 'on'. I thought it might be an problem with the motor so I have replaced the synchron motor but it did not resolve the issue. Does this mean that the zone valve is faulty and needs replacing and if so is this best left to a professional (as you have probably guessed I am a complete amateur).

Attached a photo of the valve and also the motor I took out which around the cog had a brown thick stain on it which was suspicious. Any ideas?
Not a massive problem at the moment as can turn the rads off but would like to fix it.
motor3.jpg
motor2.jpg

Do you have a multimeter? If so some simple checks will show you where the feed is coming from.
Most likely valve body seized in open position keeping end switch contacting, could take head off valve and see if spindle is free.

Replace the whole power head or if possible the whole valve the linkage wears on them and fails to activate the micro switch when eithier calling for heat or when its satisfied so just stays on . Kop

That's the hot water motorised valve. Or is the picture just for effect?
That was just to show the brown stain on the cog, not sure how it got there but quite gooey.
[automerge]1591954664[/automerge]
Do you have a multimeter? If so some simple checks will show you where the feed is coming from.
Most likely valve body seized in open position keeping end switch contacting, could take head off valve and see if spindle is free.