Search the forum,

Discuss any help im confused in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

ndwhite

hi everyone and sorry if this has already been discussed just i couldnt find any post about this really. im starting a plumbing course in a couple of weeks time at my local college. its an evening class and when i applied for this i was on the understanding that the course i was goiong for was the 6129 which takes 2 years. i have now been told by the college that this course cant be done now. they said that im doing a peo level 1 which is a year course 2 nights a week. after completing this ihave to get a job which allows me to take day release to go to college to then go for my 6129. is this right? i have no plumbing experience what so ever just looking for a career change, so confusing. any info and help be great. thanks in advance

no worng, the 6129 is a tec cert and should have been stopped this year but it has been extended so still available for 1 year.
if you do a peo level 1 and get a job then u can go onto level diploma in plumb but if no job you cannot do the 6129 becuase it will no longer exist, any other questions?

whats the diploma? surely no one will employ me until i have some experience. i.e the level 1 peo. i chose the night course as i dont think i can afford to live on apprentice wages as im 27 and have a house, car and bills to pay. any companies that take on people like me

the diploma is the new name for the new qualification. it is replacing the nvq although they may also keep the nvq name in there somehow.
yes this may see the end of short courses as you must be employed to take the qual unless they revise it because of opposition.