Search the forum,

Discuss advice needed please (to ba a plumber) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sandy

firstly let me say hello, im a newb here

i know there is a post like this below but my circumstances are a bit different.

this might be a long post so thanks for looking and any help and advice is very welcome.

i am 25 years old. i currently work as a structural engineer (3 years), designing structures for extensions right up to multi storey flats etc, i studied for 4 years at uni to gain an honours degree for this, however i hate the work. i cant stand being stuck at a desk all day crunching numbers.

i left school at 18 to find an appreniceship, i applied to hundreds of companies but was told i was too old! hence why i went to uni.

i have wanted to be a plumber for years.. my granda was a plumber.

i much prefer to be on the move and working with my hands. i wanted to give you a bit of backround info to allow you to appreciate my situation.

so i wanted to ask
-what is the best route for me to get a career in plumbing
-can anyone recomend courses based in scotland that would make me qualified?

i am prepared to take a pay cut to do something i want to do but cant afford to go back down to apprentices wages, so i would prefer to be able to say "yes i have x and y qualifications but little site experience" and work my way up from there, if thats possible.

without any plumbing quals it might be difficult not to take a pay cut, my advise is try and get on a night college course, so your still earning while your learning.

good luck.

read any previous threads on this subject and add any additional points that may not have been covered, everyone is different but most points are the same

Is your grandad still about and still a plumber? Even if he is retired he can act as mentor.