Search the forum,

Discuss A fine installation in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

ghost

It never ceases to amaze me at the garbage that some people install. Take a look at this pressure relief discharge pipe that has been bodged into the condensate drain on a Vaillant that was installed 3 years ago.
The other pic is the condensate pipe under the floor. The installers must have ran out of through connectors and only had this damaged one, so they caked it with glue. Nice.
I hope the pics are reasonably clear, they were taken on my Nokia N80.

Attachments

• 04092010128.jpg
    04092010128.jpg
    91.3 KB · Views: 185
  • 04092010127.jpg
    04092010127.jpg
    87.7 KB · Views: 186
dont laugh too hard but,
the guy i have been installing with for the last 2 years has run the condensate and b/off in all but a handfull of installations during this time exactly the same way.
i have taken this as the norm, so you are telling me its a big no no?.
what is his position if half his work is inspected?.
well i be blowed, your only as good as the guy that taught you.

The second picture they have been short of a union so have cut an elbow. Not right but not exactly wrong either as it still has about half inch slip. It won't leak. All they had to do was heat the pipe and make a socket.
The cables should not be taped to the pipe and in the 1st pic the b/o should not be in with the condensate.

shouldn't the blowoff be into a tundish? and it would have been better with a swept tee wouldn't it?

steve

The blow-off can't be plastic, and I seem to remember can only be sent to drain if you can prove that all the piping can handle the temperature - virtually impossible with plastic soil stacks.

If it was OK, surely the boiler manufacturers wouldn't supply two outputs to the boiler??

I also think it's good practice for the user to see when the boiler is venting expess pressure, in the same way you would an overflow.